A series of powerful earthquakes occurred in the Pacific Ocean

A number of powerful earthquakes occurred in the Pacific Ocean in the area of ​​the Loyalty archipelago and the island of New Caledonia. The magnitude of the first was 6.1, the second was 6.6 on the Richter scale.

Epicenters of seismic activity were located at a depth of 10 km.

Tadine, New Caledonia
104.0 km (64.6 mi) E
Population: 7,492
Wé, New Caledonia
185.7 km (115.4 mi) ESE
Population: 10,375
Mont-Dore, New Caledonia
249.4 km (155.0 mi) ENE
Population: 24,680
Dumbéa, New Caledonia
258.0 km (160.3 mi) ENE
Population: 19,346
Nouméa, New Caledonia

New Caledonia – a special administrative-territorial formation of France, located in the Pacific Ocean. It is represented by a large island of the same name and a group of small islands in the southwestern part of the Pacific Ocean, in Melanesia.

The Loyalty Archipelago is 100 km away. east of the island of New Caledonia. Loyalty consists of four inhabited islands of Lifu, Mare, Uvea and Tiga, representing coral atolls with a total area of ​​2.5 thousand square meters. km.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x