Among connoisseurs, the village of Chusovoye is considered a special place. This is due to the unusual stone wall, which has elements of polygonal masonry, characteristic of megalithic structures of ancient times scattered around the world. According to some sources, the polygonal masonry from Chusovoye is unique not only for the Urals, but is the only example in the whole of Russia.
The village of Chusovoye was founded on September 1, 1727, on this day the Staroshaitansky Demidovsky plant produced the first smelting. You can read about it in any information source about the history of the Urals. It should be noted that the Staroshaitansky plant was destroyed in the early twentieth century, its ruins are preserved on the photo of S.M. Prokudin-Gorsky, 1912.
The stone wall is located near the water, it consists of large stone blocks, densely lying on each other, it is 135 meters long and about 4x in height.
According to the official history, the stone wall is a wharf, which was used to load barges with pig iron to send them down the river. And here the first question arises. Why is this wharf stone and large, although all other wharves on the river were smaller and made of larch?
Let’s omit the discussion of financial and labor costs of construction, let’s not think where these stones came from (there is no quarry or quarry nearby), we will leave only one question: why? More plausible is the version that this wall was already built much earlier and was simply used as a wharf.
There are a lot of speculations about the origin of the wall, some authors point out that on the plans of Shaitan plant it is not there at all, others say that it was built centuries ago, others believe that it is the remains of the walls of an ancient fortification, the so-called star-shaped medieval fortress, traces of which are found throughout Siberia. There are more questions than answers….